TripleHead2Go

For questions concerning driver development in general, problems with the board or users, feature requests or other Off-Topic discussions.

TripleHead2Go

Postby _max_ » Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:42 pm

Hi,

Couldn't find any thread where this would fit in so im hoping tuxx can move it to where it belongs :)

Im wondering if anyone has had any success in getting the TripleHead2Go working in linux? they only seem to support Windows and OSX. I dont need 3d support really, 2d accellerated is fine, its just for "office use"

//br _max_
_max_
Private
Private
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:39 pm

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:43 am

AFAIK, Triplehead 2 Go simply needs special modelines as it doesn't have
a driver because it acts as one big display, AFAIK.
So, there's not really a driver for TH2Go.

Try to set the resolution according to your display setup, e.g. 3*1280x1024
or something like this in your xorg.conf and give it a try.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Postby _max_ » Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:22 pm

from what i'v read this is the impression iv gotten, so im just crossing my fingers and hoping for the best, il order a few to work tmrw :) and post a report when i figure out if it works!

Thanks for the quick respons ;) as always.

br // _max_
_max_
Private
Private
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:39 pm

Postby tuxx-home.at » Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:36 pm

from what i'v read this is the impression iv gotten, so im just crossing my
fingers and hoping for the best


Well, then please keep us updated here!

In theory, it would be possible for me to get Dualhead2Go and Triplehead2Go
hardware for testing purposes from Matrox Germany, so if you really have
troubles in setting things up, I will contact them and ask for test hardware.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Postby virus84 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:24 pm

Hi i have a working setup with TH2GO at home using 3x19" TFT monitors etch running 1280x1024 a total of 3840x1024 i have some ModeLines and some other stuff in my Xorg config. I head trubel geting it working at first then i upgraded my NVidia drivers and after that it worked :) . If you have any questions youer welcome to ask me :)

You can see a screenshot of my setup at http://linuxboxen.se/current.png
The blue thingi is Tvtime that wouldent be on the screen shot :)
virus84
Private
Private
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:20 pm
Location: Jönköping

Postby tuxx-home.at » Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:28 am

That's nice! Thanks for your feedback.

Could you please attach your xorg.conf to your next message for future
reference?

Many thanks.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

working 3h2g 3840x1024 @ 60Hz

Postby fatespeaks » Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:18 pm

I was able to get my TripleHead2Go working an NVidia GeForce FX 5200 on both Debian Etch and Ubuntu Feisty with modeline info from this page. http://www.openscenegraph.com/index.php?page=KnowledgeBase.TripleHead2Go The author of that page said it was for SUSE 10.0.
fatespeaks
Private
Private
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN - US

Maximize to monitor on 3H2G?

Postby fatespeaks » Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:25 pm

Now that I have my system working on 3 monitors, it would be great to have some UI functionality like I have on Windoze. I currently use Gnome on Ubuntu, but will switch to another Desktop Environment to get this feature. I would like to be able to maximize windows to a single monitor. Locking the panes within a monitor would be nice too. I think that Xinerama supports something like this, but I don't think Xinerama is necessary because TripleHead2Go looks like a single monitor to Xorg. Has anyone had success with this?

Cheers,
Aaron
fatespeaks
Private
Private
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN - US

Postby tuxx-home.at » Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:54 am

The only window manager know to me that is able to do fake xinerama is
enlightenment DR17:

[http://www.enlightenment.org]

If you want to give it a try, you may be interested in the following article:

[http://tuxx-home.at/archives/2007/04/06/T12_46_32/]

There are also precompiled binaries available, but you should give the
latest CVS version a try as they implemented desktop icons recently
and some people really like them ;)
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Thanks for the tip on enlightenment

Postby fatespeaks » Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:20 pm

Thanks for the tip on enlightenment. I'll give that a try.

If I remember correctly, E is the previous WM for Gnome. So hopefully it will be simple to switch my current Ubuntu system. I would also like to play with compiz on this system. We'll see if E supports compositing.

Another idea I came across while researching was to run xinerama on top of multiple xnest or xephyr servers. But this sounds like a lot of overhead to me.

Whatever happens, I'll report back my experience in hopes it will help others.

Cheers,
Aaron
fatespeaks
Private
Private
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN - US

Postby tuxx-home.at » Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:32 am

If I remember correctly, E is the previous WM for Gnome.


AFAIK, E has nothing todo with Gnome and it never had.

So hopefully it will be simple to switch my current Ubuntu system.


Yes, it's fairly easy. Just replace your current runlevel script for gdm/kdm/whatever
with entrance (e.g. chmod 000 the old one and enable the entrance
runlevel script and you should be done).

We'll see if E supports compositing.


No, it doesn't. Not currently. I want to quote a text here I found in another
forum as I couldn't explain it better:

Code: Select all
Well e17 runs fine on both Xgl & AIGLX. They're just Xservers. Compiz &
Beryl are gl composting window managers. E17 does its own window
management and neither compiz nor beryl work w/ e17. There is a
composting manager for e17 called Bling but it's only a module for
xcompmgr and therefor can only do non-gl composting and is really only
good for transparency and menu fading effects. In other words you won't
get the spinning cube when you switch desktops or the wobbly windows
since open gl is what makes this possible. The latest word is that E18 will
have a native composting manager.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Postby Sebastral » Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:27 pm

I have a P750 now, so the benefits of this thing on an nvidia card would be hibernation and bling?

Because currently there's no way to get transparency with the mtx driver is it not?
Sebastral
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:31 am

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:57 pm

Personally I didn't try bling by now so I don't know if it'll work on Parhalia
based cards. Don't know if bling needs the Composite extension too but if
you gave it a try, please tell us :)

Transparencies aren't the problem, but the Composite extension is. The
newly release 1.4.5 official mtx driver states in the readme file explicitly,
that compositing window managers aren't supported:

Out of ftp://ftp.matrox.com/pub/mga/archive/li ... -1.4.5.txt:
Code: Select all
Q:  Do you support XGL and AIGLX?
A:  No, 3D based desktops aren't supported by this driver.

Q:  Is OpenGL indirect rendering supported?
A:  No, OpenGL indirect rendering (OpenGL over the network) isn't
    supported by this driver. Only direct rendering (local OpenGL
    applications) is supported.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Fake Xinerama Info for TripleHead2Go

Postby fatespeaks » Sun Oct 07, 2007 5:55 am

I was finally able to fake the Xinerama Info for my TripleHead2Go with the help of an option in the latest NVidia binary driver 100.14.19.
Code: Select all
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOverride" "1280x1024+0+0, 1280x1024+1280+0, 1280x1024+2560+0"

Now I can maximize to the display. Woo-Hoo!

Cheers,
Aaron
fatespeaks
Private
Private
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN - US

Postby fatespeaks » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:45 am

TwinViewXineramaInfoOverride turned out to be a bad idea. With this option enabled, compiz effects, screensavers, and likely everything else is updating each area of my screen separately. Looks like I need to try something else.

-Aaron
fatespeaks
Private
Private
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN - US

Next

Return to General questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron