Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

This forum is for all Parhelia based cards (Millenium P650, P690, P750, QID, Parhelia 256, APVe, ...) that need the mtx driver to run properly.

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby Niko_K » Sun May 04, 2008 6:48 pm

I do not use CONF_HIGHMEM in my kernel (since it is a fresh kubuntu 8.04 kde3 installation with no changes to the kernel).

My dmesg | grep MEM therefore looks a bit different
Code: Select all
dmesg | grep MEM
[   22.300011]   MEM window: da000000-da0fffff
[   22.300018]   MEM window: disabled.
[   22.300025]   MEM window: disabled.
[   22.300031]   MEM window: disabled.
[   22.300040]   MEM window: d8000000-d9ffffff
Niko_K
Private
Private
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby tuxx-home.at » Mon May 05, 2008 9:58 am

I do not use CONF_HIGHMEM in my kernel (since it is a fresh kubuntu 8.04 kde3 installation with no changes to the kernel).


If you haven't compiled the kernel yourself, how can you be sure?
Maybe CONFIG_HIGHMEM is activated by default on Ubuntu kernels, I don't know.

Go and see if there's a file called /proc/config.gz on your system:

Code: Select all
zgrep CONFIG_HIGHMEM /proc/config.gz


If access to your kernel configuration through procfs is not possible, have a look at your /boot/ folder and see if there's a file called "config-$YOURKERNELVERSION" lying around and check if CONFIG_HIGHMEM has been enabled in there.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby Niko_K » Tue May 06, 2008 12:24 pm

Okay... maybe you are right...
...what I did was the following:

I downloaded the linux-headers from the (k)ubuntu repository, which match my kernel and in the created folder i found a .config file...

...but it could be that this is not the actual configuration...
I'll have a look for the proc(config.gz file as soon as I'm at home
Niko_K
Private
Private
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby csp » Tue May 06, 2008 9:46 pm

I did
Code: Select all
cat /boot/config-2.6.24-16-generic | grep CONFIG_HIGHMEM

but there is no output...

Is HIGHMEM mandatory?
csp
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby tuxx-home.at » Tue May 06, 2008 9:51 pm

Well, according to the kernel documentation:

Code: Select all
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G:

    Select this if you have a 32-bit processor and between 1 and 4
    gigabytes of physical RAM.


And the help text to CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM reads:

Code: Select all
Linux can use up to 64 Gigabytes of physical memory on x86 systems. 
However, the address space of 32-bit x86 processors is only 4       
Gigabytes large. That means that, if you have a large amount of     
physical memory, not all of it can be "permanently mapped" by the   
kernel. The physical memory that's not permanently mapped is called 
"high memory".                                                       
                                                                     
If you are compiling a kernel which will never run on a machine with
more than 1 Gigabyte total physical RAM, answer "off" here (default 
choice and suitable for most users). This will result in a "3GB/1GB"
split: 3GB are mapped so that each process sees a 3GB virtual memory
space and the remaining part of the 4GB virtual memory space is used
by the kernel to permanently map as much physical memory as         
possible.                                                           
If the machine has between 1 and 4 Gigabytes physical RAM, then     
answer "4GB" here.                                                 
                                                                   
If more than 4 Gigabytes is used then answer "64GB" here. This     
selection turns Intel PAE (Physical Address Extension) mode on.     
PAE implements 3-level paging on IA32 processors. PAE is fully     
supported by Linux, PAE mode is implemented on all recent Intel     
processors (Pentium Pro and better). NOTE: If you say "64GB" here, 
then the kernel will not boot on CPUs that don't support PAE!       
                                                                   
The actual amount of total physical memory will either be           
auto detected or can be forced by using a kernel command line option
such as "mem=256M". (Try "man bootparam" or see the documentation of
your boot loader (lilo or loadlin) about how to pass options to the
kernel at boot time.)         


So, I'd say: Yes, for your system, it's mandatory.
Usually, distributions ship with a highmem enabled kernel too (you should be able to choose between them in your bootloader).

I've never tried to run a linux system with more than 1GB of ram without this option, so I can't say if this will work or not.
What's the output of `free -m` and `cat /proc/meminfo` on your system?
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby csp » Tue May 06, 2008 10:52 pm

Ok, but on a x86_64 linux the 4GB memory border disappeared as I know. All pointer are 64bit there.
Are these "highmem" switches necessary on 64 bit?

btw. I tried mtx driver 1.4.6.1 already but same behaviour...

Code: Select all
root@mars:~# free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          5978        269       5708          0          6        158
-/+ buffers/cache:        104       5874
Swap:        19336          0      19336
csp
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby Niko_K » Fri May 09, 2008 11:43 am

Hi,

I do not hava a /proc/config.gz file on my system, but on /boot/ there is a config-<kernelversion>

Output of "cat config-2.6.24-17-generic | grep HIGH" is
Code: Select all
CONFIG_HIGH_RES_TIMERS=y
, so no... I do not have HIGHMEM support turned on.

Regards,
Niko
Niko_K
Private
Private
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby tuxx-home.at » Fri May 09, 2008 12:28 pm

@csp: Of course, you're right. On 64bit systems Highmem support is not necessary to driver 4GB of RAM, I somehow forgot that you are on a 64bit system.
@Niko_K: is your system 64bits too?

As you all might have noticed already, the current mtx driver release has some (in my opinion) serious memory management problems, thus the error messages "Failed to allocate locked pages", etc. arise in your kernel logfile although they shouldn't be there.
I'm currently trying to investigate why this happens and how to fix this bug. That may take a while, maybe your problems are solved with this fix, but I don't know.

In the mean time you two might want to contact the official Matrox Tech support for a fix to this issue, maybe they can/will help you out with this.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby Niko_K » Fri May 09, 2008 8:20 pm

Yes... i use also use 64bit here (AMD X2)
Niko_K
Private
Private
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sat May 10, 2008 11:33 am

OK, maybe the 64bit stuff is the problem, but I don't know for sure and I don't have 64bit hardware to test this (probably my next system at work will be 64bits, but due to the fact that I got my currently "new" system about one year ago, getting 64bit hardware might take a while for me).

I'll try to pimp my system next week to have about 4GB of memory in it (or even more, depending on what RAM bricks we've lying around) and will see if the 32bit version suffers from the same issue.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby csp » Sat May 10, 2008 8:39 pm

your 32bit system may not suffer becaue my box is dualboot 64bit and 32bit.
the box has 6GB memory and the 32bit system detects just 3,3GB, see below:

Code: Select all
root@mars:~# free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          3290       1145       2144          0         51        840
-/+ buffers/cache:        252       3037
Swap:         3953          0       3953


But i can give you, tuxx-home, ssh access to my 64bit box if this make sense...

Thanks

Regards


CSP
csp
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sat May 10, 2008 9:32 pm

the box has 6GB memory and the 32bit system detects just 3,3GB


And does the 32bit installation have CONFIG_HIGHMEM set?

But i can give you, tuxx-home, ssh access to my 64bit box if this make sense...


Might come in handy, yes. Let me first try to reproduce this on a 32bit system to narrow down the issue.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby csp » Sun May 11, 2008 11:35 am

Here some infos about my _32_BIT_ SYSTEM:


chrisi@mars:/boot$ dmesg | grep MEM
Code: Select all
[    0.000000] 3328MB HIGHMEM available.
[    0.000000] 768MB LOWMEM available.
[   18.183853]   MEM window: efc00000-efcfffff
[   18.183863]   MEM window: efe00000-efefffff
[   18.183877]   MEM window: efa00000-efafffff
[   18.183895]   MEM window: ef900000-ef9fffff
[   18.183909]   MEM window: ef900000-efbfffff
[   18.183920]   MEM window: ef600000-ef6fffff


chrisi@mars:/boot$ cat config-2.6.22-14-generic | grep MEM
Code: Select all
CONFIG_ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTPLUG=y
CONFIG_ARCH_FLATMEM_ENABLE=y
CONFIG_ARCH_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL=y
CONFIG_ARCH_SPARSEMEM_ENABLE=y
# CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM is not set
# CONFIG_DISCONTIGMEM_MANUAL is not set
CONFIG_FLATMEM=y
CONFIG_FLATMEM_MANUAL=y
CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP=y
CONFIG_HAS_IOMEM=y
CONFIG_HIGHMEM=y
# CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM is not set
CONFIG_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL=y
CONFIG_SHMEM=y
# CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_MANUAL is not set
CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_STATIC=y
# CONFIG_TINY_SHMEM is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_UMEM=m
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y
# CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G is not set
CONFIG_INFINIBAND_USER_MEM=y
CONFIG_INPUT_FF_MEMLESS=m
CONFIG_W1_SLAVE_SMEM=m
csp
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby csp » Sun May 11, 2008 12:21 pm

Now, i installed the "server" image of the kernel (32bit, too):

chrisi@mars:/boot$ dmesg | grep MEM
Code: Select all
[    0.000000] 6016MB HIGHMEM available.
[    0.000000] 896MB LOWMEM available.
[   29.413150]   MEM window: efc00000-efcfffff
[   29.413160]   MEM window: efe00000-efefffff
[   29.413174]   MEM window: efa00000-efafffff
[   29.413192]   MEM window: ef900000-ef9fffff
[   29.413206]   MEM window: ef900000-efbfffff
[   29.413217]   MEM window: ef600000-ef6fffff



chrisi@mars:/boot$ cat config-2.6.22-14-server | grep MEM
Code: Select all
CONFIG_ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTPLUG=y
CONFIG_ARCH_FLATMEM_ENABLE=y
CONFIG_ARCH_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL=y
CONFIG_ARCH_SPARSEMEM_ENABLE=y
# CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM is not set
# CONFIG_DISCONTIGMEM_MANUAL is not set
CONFIG_FLATMEM=y
CONFIG_FLATMEM_MANUAL=y
CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP=y
CONFIG_HAS_IOMEM=y
CONFIG_HIGHMEM=y
# CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM is not set
CONFIG_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL=y
CONFIG_SHMEM=y
# CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_MANUAL is not set
CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_STATIC=y
# CONFIG_TINY_SHMEM is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_UMEM=m
# CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G=y
CONFIG_INFINIBAND_USER_MEM=y
CONFIG_INPUT_FF_MEMLESS=m
CONFIG_W1_SLAVE_SMEM=m


Regards
CSP
csp
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: Xorg does not load sucessful anymore :-(

Postby tuxx-home.at » Thu May 22, 2008 9:48 am

OK I had the possibility to get my hands on such a machine and from that experience I can say that it's a bug in the driver (another one, yes).
When the mtx driver is loaded, the system experiences soft lockups which looks like as if your system freezes, but after a minute or so (mostly 61 seconds) the system gets responsive again but needs to be rebooted.
Without the mtx kernel module loaded, everything works fine but you won't get hardware acceleration then.

I don't know if the problem is related to the 64bit architecture you guys are using or if it can be solved by using less memory, so if possible, please try to physically reduce the amount of RAM in your machine to make sure that the problem is caused by the 64bit architecture.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

PreviousNext

Return to Matrox P-Series Cards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron