Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

This forum is for questions about all G-series cards (G200, G400, G450, ...) that need the mga driver to work properly

Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby kag » Tue May 13, 2008 11:15 pm

Hi,
I installed the driver following this post: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=537#p3852

But the windows are drawn very slowly and the whole computer just feels slow. How do I make sure the unofficial drivers are the one being used? Also, I cannot enable Compiz, it says desktop effects cannot be enabled.

I'm attaching the interesting files.

Thank you :-)
Attachments
xorg.conf
(1.2 KiB) Downloaded 236 times
Xorg.0.log
(44.79 KiB) Downloaded 231 times
kag
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:59 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby tuxx-home.at » Wed May 14, 2008 8:21 am

You're currently not using any of the available Matrox drivers, but the vesa driver:

(II) VESA: driver for VESA chipsets: vesa
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 01:00:0
(--) Assigning device section with no busID to primary device
(--) Chipset vesa found


Please give the attached configuration file a try.
Attachments
xorg.conf
Modified xorg.conf, using the mga driver instead of autodetecting the driver
(1.38 KiB) Downloaded 311 times
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby kag » Wed May 14, 2008 2:13 pm

Thank you. I cannot see any difference with this new xorg.conf, except for the fact that glxgears looks like it's running smoother (although it's getting the same FPS). The windows are still drawn very slowly (I first see the content, and then half a second later, the borders and title bar appear), and the desktop effects still can't be enabled.

I'm attaching again Xorg.0.log. Do you need anything else?
Attachments
Xorg.0.log
(42.83 KiB) Downloaded 216 times
kag
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:59 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby kag » Fri May 16, 2008 12:22 am

For your information, I got Compiz to work by:
1- adding "mga" to the whitelist in /usr/bin/compiz
2- reducing my resolution from 1280x1024 to 1024x768

But it's horribly, horribly slow, and there is some corruption on the screen. Anything I can do about that?
kag
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:59 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby jp734 » Sun May 18, 2008 8:47 pm

I'm experiencing the exact same problem. I'm using G550 on Hardy Heron.
Please let me know if you figure out what to do and I will do the same thing.
Thanks in advance
jp734
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby kag » Tue May 20, 2008 4:12 pm

jp734 wrote:I'm experiencing the exact same problem. I'm using G550 on Hardy Heron.
Please let me know if you figure out what to do and I will do the same thing.
Thanks in advance

Thanks, I have a G550 at home and the next step was to put it in instead of the G450, but I'll wait for tuxx's answer then!
kag
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:59 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sat May 24, 2008 10:58 am

First of all: Sorry for the delay :-/

Well, I don't know what else to say. Your new Xorg.0.log looks good, it makes use of the mga driver and acceleration seems to look fine.
The only thing that isn't 100% alright is the AGP transfer rate, which is currently set to 1x:

(==) MGA(0): Using AGP 1x mode


To increase the speed on the AGP bus, add the following option to your device section (using the maximum supported value of your motherboard <-> graphics card combination):

Code: Select all
Section "Device"
   [...]
   Option "AGPMode" "4"
   [...]
EndSection


If that doesn't help, I'm out of ideas or the hardware is not really suited for running compiz apps on it.

As to the screen corruption: Is there any bootsplashing software configured on your system? If so, you could try to disable it by adding the "nosplash" option to your kernel command line (e.g. by modifying /boot/grub/menu.lst) and see if that cures this issue.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby kag » Mon May 26, 2008 4:00 pm

Don't worry for the delay. I don't expect anything from something free!

Thanks for your analysis. I'll try to change to AGP 4x and see how it goes. I don't know about the bootsplashing software, I'm not really sure what it means. I'm on a vanilla Ubuntu install. Anyway I'll try the nosplash option.

I'll let you know how it goes, maybe it'll help others.

For the record, my machine is a 2.4 Ghz Celeron with a GB of PC3200 RAM on an Asus P4VP-MX. Pretty much everything (except video) is onboard. Not sure about the hard disk, but I don't think it should matter.
kag
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:59 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby kag » Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:40 pm

For the record, setting « Option "AGPMode" "4" » makes the computer freeze completely (hitting Caps-Lock doesn't even toggle the indicator on the keyboard) at some point when Ubuntu tries to log in. According to the motherboard and video card manuals, both officially support AGP 4x.

Adding nosplash didn't change anything.

I gave up at that point, I guess my hardware is too old :(

I'll try to put some pressure on my boss to buy me a new computer so I can work on Ubuntu.
kag
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:59 pm

Re: Not sure the drivers are loaded in Hardy

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:19 pm

For the record, setting « Option "AGPMode" "4" » makes the computer freeze completely


Oh, that's bad... Might be a good indicator for broken hardware though.

Adding nosplash didn't change anything.


Was the bootsplash enabled on your system before? Are you seeing fancy graphics during the boot process or is there just the good old text console available while booting (e.g. white letters on black background)?
Can I please see the output of `cat /proc/cmdline`?

I'll try to put some pressure on my boss to buy me a new computer so I can work on Ubuntu.


What did your boss say? ;)
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe


Return to Matrox G-Series Cards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron