G400 dual-head 2nd monitor low resolution

This forum is for questions about all G-series cards (G200, G400, G450, ...) that need the mga driver to work properly

G400 dual-head 2nd monitor low resolution

Postby pete » Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:48 am

I recently upgrade my system from an old redhat version to Fedora 8. I'm trying to get dual-head xinerama working, but the 2nd monitor doesn't seem to like a resolution above 800x600. Both monitors are the same (ViewSonic VA930m)... the 1st monitor works with 1280x1024, but the 2nd won't.

What's preventing the 2nd monitor from working at 1280x1024 resolution?

I've attached my Xorg.0.log and xorg.conf files (both gzipped).

Thanks.
Attachments
xorg.conf.gz
(519 Bytes) Downloaded 282 times
Xorg.0.log.gz
(8.07 KiB) Downloaded 254 times
pete
Private
Private
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:48 am

Re: G400 dual-head 2nd monitor low resolution

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:06 am

The second output of your card is unable to query the preferred timings of the monitor attached to it and therefore it gets wrong timing values.
Add the following two lines to both of your Monitor sections and you should be fine:

Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   [...]
   VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
   HorizSync 24.0 - 82.0
   [...]
EndSection
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: G400 dual-head 2nd monitor low resolution

Postby pete » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:00 am

tuxx-home.at wrote:The second output of your card is unable to query the preferred timings of the monitor attached to it and therefore it gets wrong timing values.


Thanks very much... adding the values to the monitor section worked.

But... why isn't the 2nd monitor detected? Does this indicate a problem with the monitor itself? Or a problem with the G400 card?
pete
Private
Private
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:48 am

Re: G400 dual-head 2nd monitor low resolution

Postby tuxx-home.at » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:19 am

Thanks very much... adding the values to the monitor section worked.


Great.

Does this indicate a problem with the monitor itself? Or a problem with the G400 card?


The monitor is definetly not the problem, because when you attach it to the first output it will work as expected.
I guess that's a driver problem, because on windows systems the querying of the displays work fine on both heads, AFAIR.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe


Return to Matrox G-Series Cards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron