Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

This forum is for questions about all G-series cards (G200, G400, G450, ...) that need the mga driver to work properly

Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

Postby DieTa » Wed May 02, 2007 12:49 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to run my 2 19" TFT displays with my old, but passive and because of that supersilent Matrox Millenium G450 PCI with Ubuntu Feisty Fawn.

I can use the first monitor without any problems, but I've some problems with the activation of the 2nd one. I already downloaded your driver v4.4 and installed it (with a downgrade of Xorg from 7.20 to 7.10).

Here's my xorg.conf:
Code: Select all
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   Screen   1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
   Option "Xinerama" "true"
   Option "IgnoreABI" "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     480   310   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "SNY"
   ModelName    "GDM-FW900"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
#   HorizSync    30.0 - 121.0
#   VertRefresh  48.0 - 160.0
   Option       "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        #DisplaySize      480   310     # mm
        Identifier   "Monitor1"
        VendorName   "IBM"
        ModelName    "P260"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
#       HorizSync    30.0 - 121.0
#       VertRefresh  48.0 - 160.0
        Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Head1"
   Driver      "mga"
   VendorName  "Matrox Graphics, Inc."
   BoardName   "G400/G450"
   BusID       "PCI:7:0:0"
      Option     "Crtc2Half" "True"
      Option     "AGPMode"   "4"
   VideoRam 32768
   Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier "Head2"
   Driver "mga"
   BusID "PCI:7:0:0"
   Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Head1"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes "1280x1024"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen1"
        Device     "Head2"
        Monitor    "Monitor1"
     DefaultDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
      Modes "1280x1024"
        EndSubSection
EndSection


My problem is, that the card doesn't activate the 2nd screen.

I hope anyone here knows how I can get it work!

Ciao
Dennis


-- edit --

I'm sorry, this xorg.conf displays this error when trying to run it:
Code: Select all
(EE) MGA(1): MATROXValidateMode from HALlib found the mode to be invalid.
Error: 0xb1901020
DieTa
Private
Private
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:44 pm

Postby tuxx-home.at » Wed May 02, 2007 1:27 pm

with a downgrade of Xorg from 7.20 to 7.10


Please excuse the wording in the installer. There has no downgrade
happened, it just installed the older driver for your newer Xorg version, so
you're still at 7.2.0.

I need to see the _WHOLE_ /var/log/Xorg.0.log file. Please attach it to your
next posting.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Postby DieTa » Wed May 02, 2007 1:35 pm

Hi tuxx-home.at,

thank you for your response.

Meanwhile I got my Xorg running, but even with 1 screen.

Attached you'll find the xorg & the requested Xorg.0.log.

Thank you! :)
Attachments
Xorg.0.log
(37.51 KiB) Downloaded 670 times
xorg.conf
(4.43 KiB) Downloaded 680 times
DieTa
Private
Private
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:44 pm

Postby tuxx-home.at » Wed May 02, 2007 1:47 pm

Please try the attached configuration file.
Your Xorg.0.log file doesn't contain the error message as it was generated
when you used the singlehead configuration file, so if Xorg doesn't work
with my attached configuration file, please attach the Xorg.0.log file of the
failed run to your next posting.

If your X server does automatically restart with a failsafe configuration or
something like this, the file may be called Xorg.0.log.old.
Attachments
xorg.conf
Modified xorg.conf
(4.53 KiB) Downloaded 771 times
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Postby DieTa » Wed May 02, 2007 1:53 pm

Thanks, but this xorg.conf also doesn't enable the 2nd screen - on the terminal, it's cloned, but when I launch the gdm with "startx", it gets no signal - just the blinking LED.

I recognized, that the "mirror" is now also disabled. After fresh installation of Ubuntu 7.04, the 2nd monitor cloned the first one.

Attached you will find both, Xorg.0.log & Xorg.0.log.old.
Attachments
Xorg.0.log.old
(37.51 KiB) Downloaded 671 times
Xorg.0.log
(37.54 KiB) Downloaded 649 times
DieTa
Private
Private
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:44 pm

Postby tuxx-home.at » Wed May 02, 2007 2:05 pm

Still no error messages in your logfiles.
I attached another configuration file, please give it a try and before posting
the Xorg.0.log files, please ensure that they contain the error messages you
saw the first time.
Attachments
xorg.conf
Removed the different PCI-BusIDs in favour of
the Screen option in device sections.
(4.55 KiB) Downloaded 727 times
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Postby DieTa » Wed May 02, 2007 2:17 pm

Sorry.. your last xorg.conf reproduced the error. I stored the Xorg.0.log including the error. See attachment.
Attachments
Xorg.0.log
(46.33 KiB) Downloaded 656 times
DieTa
Private
Private
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:44 pm

Postby tuxx-home.at » Sat May 12, 2007 11:19 am

Well, that's strange, although both heads report that 1280x1024 has an
invalid hsync value.
Your displays timing values seem correct and therefore I don't understand,
why t
his resolution doesn't get accepted.

Did you try a BIOS update on your card already? I don't know if it will really
help, but we should give all hints a try.

Another thing you could try is to use specific Modelines instead of VertRefresh
and HorizSync timing values.

Simply comment out these options in your Monitor sections and insert the
following line:

Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   [...]
   # VertRefresh ...
   # HorizSync
   Modeline "1280x1024"  135.00  1280 1296 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
   [...]
EndSection


If this modeline doesn't work, you could try the following Modelines
too (they all got reported from your Monitors):

Code: Select all
   Modeline "1280x1024"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
   Modeline "1280x1024"  138.75  1280 1368 1504 1728  1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync
   Modeline "1280x1024"  108.00  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync


As a last resort, you could try to reduce the resolution to 1024x768 for testing
purposes and see if that works in dualhead mode.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

Postby merchinax » Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:29 am

Is it possible to convert a VGA or DVI connector into an s-video connector? I have some video equipment that requires a monitor/tv hookup via an s-video connector.
Is there any way to convert a PC monitor, which has either a VGA or DVI connector, into an s-video connector, so that it can be used with my video equipment that calls for an s-video connection? If so, what adapter or device do I need to make the conversion?
___________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com
merchinax
Private
Private
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 7:11 am

Re: Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

Postby tuxx-home.at » Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:40 am

Well, a physical conversion will most likely not be possible, but I have an adapter from VGA to S-Video in my notebook bag, so things like that exist.
User avatar
tuxx-home.at
Supreme Commander
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Vassach - Austria - Europe

Re: Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

Postby beatriziya » Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:14 pm

How can I adapt my usb to vga through my computer? I want to adapt my usb slot on my computer to the vga port. Is there a way to do it directly through the computer?
______________
yahoo keyword tool ~ overture ~ traffic estimator ~ adwords traffic estimator
beatriziya
Private
Private
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:17 am

Re: Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

Postby JonathanEllis » Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:27 pm

I just got a G200 card working. Maybe this will help you viewtopic.php?f=1&t=797&p=5252#p5252
JonathanEllis
Private
Private
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 11:45 pm

Re: Millenium G450 PCI Dual-VGA and Ubuntu (7.04)

Postby surujaa » Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:53 am

How do I switch my video output from DVI to VGA? I've been having trouble with my VGA output and it turned out to be broken. But since im lazy and cheap I didn't get it fixed or fix it. I simply went out and got myself a DVI cable to go in my DVI output. So, i got everything hooked up right. Then started my computer and got a blank screen. Help would be highly appreciated.
surujaa
Private
Private
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:08 am


Return to Matrox G-Series Cards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron